8020/cncrouterparts.com/rackandpinion/suggestions welcome

Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: 8020/cncrouterparts.com/rackandpinion/suggestions welcome

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default 8020/cncrouterparts.com/rackandpinion/suggestions welcome

I've started/nearly finished designing (wishful right?) a build. I've already built two small mdf routers but am looking for something a little beefier. Here are a few images. I would love any feedback relating to the interconnection of the 8020 as I have no experience with this. questions or comments very welcome.

The design concepts are as follows:

I wanted an extremely efficient envelope. so I tried to make everything overhang and interlock as best I could. The cuttable area is 22.5 x 34.5 so I should have no problem doing 22 x 34 pieces. The primary use will probably be topography for my architecture models. I also wanted to keep the cost as low as possible but am not willing to skimp (i still want a gecko g540 and ahren's sweet motors but want to keep my cost under $2000 for the initial build.) A lot of my dimensions are just bigger then what ahren and nate offer for sale on their websites, but i live very close (same city) as discount steel so I can get my steel for rails pretty cheap. I wanted to use the rack and pinion drives because a lot of machining will be out of rigid insulation foam. it cuts pretty fast, so it like to speed through it accordingly. Those are my basic goals and concepts. thanks for any feedback.