My new HF X2 mill -"cnc"version

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My new HF X2 mill -"cnc"version

Downloads
    Uploads

Default My new HF X2 mill -"cnc"version

I received my new mill about 5wks ago and have been building a stand and adding some upgrades. (BTW, in my case, cnc means "crank n cuss")

The stand is an old Kennedy tool box. It was the right price, free. It needed a good cleaning, new paint, one replacement handle and new drawer liners. Made a top from scrap 2x4's and 3/4" plywood to give more height. Don't laugh too much at the color, it was what I had on hand.

The mill is mounted to a 1/2" scrap steel plate and a 9x7x6 angle plate was added to stiffen the Z axis. An air spring kit and a belt drive kit were added to improve performance.(LMS)

Spent most of yesterday tramming and mounting a 3"heavy Kurt clone vise.(LMS) Being a total newbie probably tripled the time involved, but I am very satisfied with the results.

Late last night I finally tried my hand at milling. Took a small piece of 3/8" scrap mild steel and took it down to 1/4" and milled a 1/8" through slot about 1" long. It only took about 20min to make the slot. Most amazing was the fact I didn't break anything with all those RPM's, chiploads, feed speeds, etc running around in my old brain!

Here are some pics.

Thanks for all the input and help.

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by nc cooter; 05-06-2008 at 06:22 AM.
    Mike Broach

Downloads
    Uploads

Nice work on this. I used my X2 for a couple years with the crank and cuss method.
    Looks nice and solid. I like the angle plate on the column. This is a known weak spot on the X2. Looks like you fixed it on yours.

Lee

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

LOL.
    I opened this post and began reading. When I got to part about the colour, I scrolled down to see and WOW... Yellow sure is bright
    I like the angle plate in the back. Where did you get that angle plate like that?