Need Help! Handwheel command and MPG


Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Handwheel command and MPG

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    17
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default Handwheel command and MPG

    I have a hard time to setup a MPG on my retrofited machine.
    The MPG is working, it is correctly connected on the auxiliary encoder
    I want to use a rotary on screen knob .

    [KNOB1]
    VISIBLE=TRUE
    TOP= 12005
    LEFT= 140
    POSTIONS=8
    VARNUM=333
    CAPTION1=Handle OFF
    CAPTION2=Handle X
    CAPTION3=Handle Y
    CAPTION4=Handle Z
    CAPTION5=
    CAPTION6=
    CAPTION7=
    CAPTION8=
    POSITIONS=4

    I want to be able to get in an Handle mode
    I use this logic for the handle button tryed the aproach via mcode
    [BUTTON15]
    VISIBLE=TRUE
    TOP=7060
    LEFT=6680
    HEIGHT=500
    WIDTH=500
    FKEY= 0
    CAPTION=
    MFUNC1ST=93
    MFUNC2ND=0
    BITMAP=handle.bmp

    Mcode
    -----M93
    IF\333>0THEN FEEDRATE 50:ACCEL 300000ECEL 300000:[HANDLE]

    This macro

    [[HANDLE]]

    IF\333=1THEN HANDWHEEL 0
    IF\333=2THEN HANDWHEEL 1;100
    IF\333=3THEN HANDWHEEL 2;100
    IF\333=4THEN HANDWHEEL 3;100

    For me it has always been easy to deal with I/o using Inputio.fil
    But responding in real time to a variable change in state seem a bit hard


    In general I want the machine to behave as much as possible as a Fanuc control using mode JOG Handle and memory any help or example would be of great help.

    Thanks


    Erik

    Similar Threads:


  2. #2
    Member Karl_T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Dassel.MN
    Posts
    1543
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I'm not seeing your error on first look.

    Add a whole bunch of MEASSAGE commands to trace problem.

    MESSAGE start M93
    MESSAGE \333

    put at begginning of M93

    MESSAGE handle macro

    put at beginning of macro

    see what you learn. The idea is to trace down problem to one or two lines.

    Karl



  3. #3
    Member Karl_T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Dassel.MN
    Posts
    1543
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by precourt View Post

    ...
    In general I want the machine to behave as much as possible as a Fanuc control using mode JOG Handle and memory any help or example would be of great help.
    Mind if I hijack your thread?

    Don't set your sights too low. The machine should be better than a Fanuc control. One of the things needed to do this is an operator panel with all the functions your operator needs.

    My current project is panel upgrade number two on my knee mill. I'm currently in the middle of wiring. See the attached pics.

    Karl

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Handwheel command and MPG-mill-front-panel-jpg   Handwheel command and MPG-mill-galil-computer-jpg   Handwheel command and MPG-mill-io-jpg  


  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    17
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karl_T View Post
    Mind if I hijack your thread?

    Don't set your sights too low. The machine should be better than a Fanuc control. One of the things needed to do this is an operator panel with all the functions your operator needs.

    My current project is panel upgrade number two on my knee mill. I'm currently in the middle of wiring. See the attached pics.

    Karl
    Thanks for the reply, I already started to add two rotary knob one for function and one for 1X 10X 100X as on yours.

    It s way easyer to deal with I/O and inputio.fil
    I will send pictures of my machine on tuesday.


    Erik



  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    19
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default buttons

    Have a look at the CONTROLL INTERFACE from cnc direct.

    http://www.cncdirect.co.za/htm/cnc.html

    Its a really easy way to make a controll panel with a lot of buttons.

    Its a controll board whitch is connected between the pc keyboard and the pc.
    You can add about 24 buttons and 4 rotary swtches.
    You can simply add oem buttons in mach and program the keyboard strokes you programmed into the controll interface so yoyr buttons will work.

    I have one of these and made a controll panel for my emco pcmill 50 with an mpg wheel. I can toggle all the axis, jog mode etc all with the buttons on my panel. even feedrate and spindle speed are contrlled trhough this interface.

    Much simpler than programming buttons trough inputs..

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Handwheel command and MPG-paneel-binnen-jpg   Handwheel command and MPG-img_1777-jpg   Handwheel command and MPG-img_1779-jpg  


  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    332
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    You almost got it.

    (1) You have a mistake setting the KNOB. You'll notice 2 POSITION settings. one for 4 and one for 8

    (2) You have a mistake setting MFUNC2ND=0. You should also set this to 93 or else the button will only work half the time. You'll think you have a random problem.


    (3) You may have another mistake but it may just be the way you have shown it here. The logic for the M93 should be entered above rather than below it.

    (4) The Macro is using the basic settings and looks good. However to rotate through the axis the Hand wheel has to stop motion first and be reset to 0 before you job a different axis. At the top of your Macro add this logic commands:

    HANDWHEEL 0

    Dealing with or doing this with I/O is about the same effort. Once you understand all the choices available to you each method will give you more flexible. The virtual on screen knob method is best to use when you have a limited I/O number of relays to work with and don't feel like drilling a hole to mount a real knob.

    With I/O it's this way in the INPUTIO.FIL file using example I/O numbers:

    IF #20=1 THEN HANDWHEEL 0:HANDWHEEL 1;100
    IF #21=1 THEN HANDWHEEL 0:HANDWHEEL 2;100
    IF #22=1 THEN HANDWHEEL 0:HANDWHEEL 3;100

    Whereas with a virtual knob its this way using example variable numbers:

    [[HANDLE]]

    HANDWHEEL 0
    IF \333=2 THEN HANDWHEEL 1;100
    IF \333=3 THEN HANDWHEEL 2;100
    IF \333=4 THEN HANDWHEEL 3;100

    Just remember to press your button showing the Handle.bmp to active it.

    Tech Support
    CamSoft Corp.
    support@camsoftcorp.com
    PH 951-674-8100
    Fax 951-674-3110
    www.cnccontrols.com

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


About CNCzone.com

    We are the largest and most active discussion forum for manufacturing industry. The site is 100% free to join and use, so join today!

Follow us on


Our Brands

Handwheel command and MPG

Handwheel command and MPG