CarveOne's Solsylva 25x37 Router Build

Page 1 of 22 123411 ... LastLast

Thread: CarveOne's Solsylva 25x37 Router Build

Downloads
    Uploads

Default CarveOne's Solsylva 25x37 Router Build

Hello fellow builders and lurkers. I've been knocking around these forums for a few months while deciding which router design to go with for my first build. I have previously built my own redesigned version of a manual duplicator based loosely on the Copy Carver. A photo of it is included below.

However, I also wanted to build a CNC router - even as I was working on the previous machine. The machines have distinctively different applications and similarities of course.

For various reasons I decided to build David Steele's 25x37 dual lead screw design. One of the reasons is the ability to raise the machine easily for carving on thick objects. I chose red oak for the wood parts mostly for the stiffness and for the looks, being somewhat of a wannabe woodworker as well. The side rail and y axis boards are laminated 1x4 boards to arrive at the equivalent of the 2x4 boards specified in the Solsylva book.