Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: EMC+closed loop?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default EMC+closed loop?

Hi,guys!

Does EMC has got closed loops?
    Can i make closed loops with stepper motors?

EMC+C10-bidirectional breakout board+step drivers+step motors with encoders

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I am no expert with EMC2 and am just starting out myself but it looks like that is what it was designed to do. Your problem will be interfacing. I think it was designed to use a servo control board to act as a buffer for the drives. You are using steppers and there is no buffer in the drives so I don't know if your computer can keep up with live encoder updating to drive in closed loop. You will need a stand alone card to control the motors that does the updating for you, dedicated. I may be wrong....anyone???????

Downloads
    Uploads

there is actually a theoretical problem using step/direction with encoders which has nothing to do with EMC. I ran into this problem years ago with a totally different stepper based system. It came with encoders, but they weren't used. I called the company that made the system and asked them how to make it closed loop with the encoders and they told me it wasn't going to work and go open loop, so I did. I just read the position from the encoders, but they aren't in the control.

Most people find that a properly set up open loop stepper system works fine. There was a configuration in the EMC1 that would do closed loop steppers, and I really doubt anyone uses it. EMC2 is flexible that you probably could set it up.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default closed loop steppers

Use a Pico systems USC - it generates its own step/dir output pulses and is not limited by paraport speed.

It can also read encoders on steppers.

http://pico-systems.com/univstep.html

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads