Long Post-Automotive CNC applications

Thread: Long Post-Automotive CNC applications

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Long Post-Automotive CNC applications

Dreaming of a machine with a large envelope, but I have no CNC experience. (Computer Science - background)

In hopes of fabricating some custom body parts for a car, I had created the parts in 3ds and started calling companies around florida who mill hulls for boats. Upon emailing the files, they said it would be outrageously expensive to mill small body parts like bumpers, etc. at their shops. So one company gave me the phone number of a guy who had custom built a 5-axis machine in his garage. I believe he was some where in North Carolina and his name was Chris. Literally, the envelope of the machine was his entire garage! Upon sending him the files, he said it would be around $15,000 to mill the foam molds for the body panels. Knowing down the road I'm going to need lots of molds done, this led me to this forum.

Ultimately, I would like to build a 4'X8'X2' envelope, 5-axis machine which would be utilized to build foam molds for automotive body panels.

The conventional (non-CNC) route for creating custom body panels is rib construction:
    DDR Motorsport
    http://www.ddrmotorsport.com/process.html

As you can see, the steps required to get from the digital version (the ribs are created from profile cut outs of the CAD car) to the physical part are numerous. The molds for each part are created from the finished car. This ensures that the car and its parts will look/fit correct. This is way too cumbersome and the individual panels are created in a way that doesn't provide "bolt areas" where the edges of the body panel can then be bolted down into the unseen areas of the car, such as the frame. Example of this (look how the edges of the mold go up instead of down):