Feedhold / Realtime issue

Thread: Feedhold / Realtime issue

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Feedhold / Realtime issue

Hi

I was quite excited by the low price of Mach3, the large majority of boards and especially the ability to easily customize the interface, but then I read on here after a lot of searching of a feedhold problem with Mach.

I'm not a programmer I'm just trying to understand the issue and am curious as to why it exists. From what I gather, Mach is open loop and only sends steps and does not wait for a return loop before it sends the next step, as a result it sends steps per line of code, which causes the feedhold to finish the line before it is active. Is this the correct assumption?

The reason it appears is because it is compiled to run on stander windows as a standard application. While something like EMC2 runs in realtime and receives confirmation pulses before sending out new steps as a result feedhold in EMC2 is instant within the next step and not he next line of code. Am I still on the right track?

Lastly is there a solution to this, can Mach not be compiled to run in realtime http://www.tenasys.com/support/files...eDatasheet.pdf. From the video on the site the gui performance is great.

I assume for the most part that the feedhold cannot be done in the motion controller card because mach would lose track of where the machine is?

Feedhold is a deal breaker for me, it will be really difficult to use Mach without it functioning properly, but the fact that the GUI is so easily customized is very tempting compared to EMC2.

Speaking of GUI performance(I've read on here some slow performance), has anyone tried launching mach with the /realtime switch to improve performance?

Are there any other options to get feedhold and feed override to function as it does on commercial controllers?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads